Leaving the Fold by Marlene Winell, Ph.D.

If you are recovering from religion and trying to heal, even if it’s been a while since you left, this book could be really helpful. What I’ve read so far has outlined what I’ve gone through and it helps to know I’m not alone. It’s brought some things to light and I can absolutely relate to some of the things others have gone through. I think this will bring more healing my way, by the time I am done with it.

More peace, self acceptance, and self love is in my future. I’m still learning what it’s like to experience being human, and so far when with all the hell I’ve faced with every I lost with my marriage and leaving religion, it’s so much better than what I could have imagined when I first realized what I was taught growing up was flat out not true. (Everyone has their journey, this is mine.) it’s made me realize how incredibly strong I am, because I got through 34 years of my life thinking I had a helper along the way with me 24 7. It’s empowering realizing it was just me, all along and I got through all of that, my self. I had some human assistance a handful of times that I’d probably not be here if they had not loved me the way they did in those moments. I had far more humans working to hurt me than help me, but again, I got through that shit, ME.

Leave a comment